Sibelius Academy Guide for Doctoral Studies in Music: Assessment Guidelines for Demonstrations of Proficiency in the Arts Study Programme

1.1. ASSESSMENT GUIDELINES FOR DEMONSTRATIONS OF PROFICIENCY IN THE ARTS STUDY PROGRAMME

1.1.1. General

(This is an English translation of the assessment guidelines originally written in Finnish. In the event of any conflict between the English language version and the original, the Finnish language version shall prevail.).

In the arts study programme, the demonstration of proficiency for a doctoral degree is a thematically consistent artistic-research work consisting of artistic components and a written component.

The artistic components of the demonstration of proficiency may be comprised of e.g. concerts, compositions, artistic productions, liturgies, recordings, online materials or videos. The scope of the components brings together no less than two and no more than four concert programmes or other artistic entities in a doctoral degree.

When the artistic components are compositions, the scope and complexity of the artistic components must correspond to one to two concert entities or entities consisting of other similar works or performances taking into account the student's composition style and technique. With regard to the compositions, an entity that corresponds to the scope of at least one concert must be publicly performed (e.g. at least one artistic component must be a public composition concert or similar performance). In exceptional cases (e.g. a large-scale opera or other entity that is challenging in terms of production), a score alone is enough. Depending on the nature of the demonstration of proficiency, compositions must include scores whenever they are necessary for composing music, performing compositions or assessing them.

If the artistic components consist partly of composed music and partly of performed music, the ratio described above is taken into account in the number, scope and complexity of the components as well as in their assessment.

The demonstration of proficiency also includes a written component. Together, the written component and the artistic components form a coherent body of research. The written component also contains a summary which provides a report of the goals and framework of the complete demonstration of proficiency, the functions of its components and how they interrelate, along with a review of the results and a discussion of the significance of these results.

 

1.1.2. Demonstration of proficiency assessment stages in the arts study programme

The demonstrations of proficiency for the doctoral degree are pre-examined and examined. In the arts study programme, the artistic components of the demonstration of proficiency are pre-assessed and the written component is pre-examined separately. The preliminary examination of the artistic component is a preliminary assessment, in which the pre-examiner assesses the doctoral student's capabilities for completing the component. The pre-examiner assesses whether the component is ready for public performance and for committee assessment. The purpose of the preliminary examination of the written component is to ensure that the material to be used in the demonstration of proficiency meets the formal requirements and that it is of a sufficiently high standard. The pre-examiner is appointed by the Academy board of the Sibelius Academy. Separate guidelines have been issued for the preliminary examination of the artistic component and written component.

The assessment committee is responsible for the actual assessment of the demonstration of proficiency. Demonstrations of proficiency in the arts study programme are examined as a whole. The Academy board of the Sibelius Academy appoints an assessment committee composed of at least three members, with one of these members appointed as committee chair. Each doctoral student has an individual assessment committee. The assessment committee's assessment task continues from the first component of the demonstration of proficiency to a public examination and an examination statement.

The assessment committee listens to and follows all artistic components of the demonstration of proficiency, such as concerts and recordings. If, for compelling reasons, a committee member cannot attend a concert, for example, they can assess it from the recording.

The student receives from the assessment committee oral and written feedback for each artistic component, and this feedback serves to support the demonstration of proficiency process and the student’s learning within it. The written feedback also supports the assessment of the demonstration of proficiency as a whole.

After the completion of each artistic component, a feedback discussion is held, in which the assessment committee discusses the completed artistic component with the doctoral student concerned. When the artistic component is a concert or similar, the committee holds an assessment discussion and a feedback discussion with the student primarily the next working day or no later than two weeks after the concert in a manner to be decided by the assessment committee chair. When the artistic component is an audio or other type of recording, a representative of the doctoral school provides it to all members of the assessment committee, after which the committee chair convenes a feedback discussion within two weeks.

The committee chair gathers the written feedback of the board members and provides it to the student within two weeks of the feedback discussion. The chair saves the feedback for use in assessing the demonstration of proficiency.

The assessment committee may comment on the demonstration of proficiency stage and the direction of its future artistic and written components.

In the feedback discussion or immediately thereafter, the chair fills in an assessment form, which lists the committee members who participated in the assessment. The chair provides the form within two weeks of the feedback discussion to the office of the doctoral school.

 

Once all the artistic components have been implemented and the written component pre-examined, the assessment committee provides the Academy board of the Sibelius Academy with a statement on the demonstration of proficiency for the issuing of an examination permit. This statement is based on the committee's assessment of the demonstration of proficiency as a whole, which also takes into account the pre-examination statements for the written component. The doctoral student is entitled to respond to the statement.

Once the Academy board has issued an examination permit, the demonstration of proficiency will be examined at a public examination event. See the Guidelines for the public examination event.

After the examination event, the assessment committee issues a written, signed statement on the demonstration of proficiency to the Division of doctoral education and research of the Academy board of the Sibelius Academy within one month of the examination event. The statement also addresses the examination event. The doctoral student is entitled to respond to the statement.

The Division of doctoral education and research approves the demonstration of proficiency and decides on the grade based on the statements provided. When handling the matter, the Division may request a hearing from the chair of the examination event or the examiners or opponents of the demonstration of proficiency.

 

1.1.3. Assessment committee members

Assessment committee members

• familiarise themselves with the content of the upcoming demonstration of proficiency to the extent necessary and with the written background material of each component (such as the linking paper and programme booklet)
• listen to and follow all artistic components
• participate in the assessment of artistic components
• make notes and keep them for the preparation of assessment reports
• participate in the feedback discussion following the artistic component and, in the joint discussion after the completion, provide the student with oral feedback on their content and quality
• provide feedback appropriately and constructively, but also critically
• provide written feedback to the committee chair within one week of the feedback discussion
• participate in the assessment of the written component based on their expertise, supported by the relevant pre-examination statement
• under the direction of the chair, participate in drafting the examination permit statement
• participate in the public examination event and the attendant discussion
• under the direction of the chair, participate in the drafting of the examination statement
• comply with the chair's instructions and recommendations
• immediately inform the chair of the board if they will be unable to participate

1.1.4. Assessment committee chair tasks

The assessment committee chair

• oversees the assessment committee activities and ensures that the guidelines and recommendations concerning them are followed
• if necessary, familiarises themselves with other Sibelius Academy guidelines about the assessment as well as steering documents concerning the demonstration of proficiency and doctoral degree, such as doctoral degree guidelines
• informs the doctoral student, the committee and the doctoral school of any absences from the assessment committee
• ensures that the committee is aware of the objectives and nature of the demonstration of proficiency and the assessment criteria and,
• if necessary, convenes the committee to inform the committee of the above-mentioned matters
• listens to and follows all artistic components and leads the feedback discussions following them
• participates in the assessment of the artistic components and the written component as with other members of the assessment committee
• if necessary, convenes and chairs the committee for an assessment meeting (e.g. for the assessment of a recording or other similar artistic component or for drafting a statement)
• compiles the written contributions provided by the committee members for each artistic component, receives the pre-examination statements of the written component and leads the committee's grade proposal discussion and other activities in preparation for the examination permit statement, and provides the statements to the doctoral school
• participates in the public examination of the degree

In the feedback discussion and assessment meeting, the chair of the assessment committee

• ensures that the order is maintained and that the speeches are appropriate: the assessment and feedback must take place in the form of discussion and constructive, but reasonably critical spirit
• ensures that all committee members can freely and independently express their views
• ensures that the student can participate in the feedback discussion and respond freely and independently to the criticism and questions presented to them
• may, for a special reason, ask the student to leave the feedback discussion for a moment to allow the committee to consult on a given matter

After the feedback discussion, the chair

• gathers written feedback from the committee members concerning the artistic component and provides it to the student within two weeks of the feedback discussion, and retains the feedback for the assessment of the demonstration of proficiency and drafting assessment committee statements
• completes the assessment form for the component and provides it to the office of the doctoral school within two weeks of the feedback discussion
• if necessary, informs the head of the doctoral school and the student’s responsible supervisor of the student’s progress in the demonstration of proficiency and its assessment process

During the public examination, the chair

• reads the statement(s) of the assessment committee on the demonstration of proficiency and
• participates in the discussion on the demonstration of proficiency (see the Guidelines for the public examination event)

After the public examination event, the chair

• convenes the assessment committee to discuss additional information arising from the examination event and to propose a grade under the supervision of the chair of the public examination
• leads the committee in drafting the examination statement and provides it to the office of the doctoral school within one month of the examination (see Assessment committee statements below)

1.1.5. Assessment of demonstrations of proficiency in the arts study programme

The assessment committee assesses the demonstration of proficiency as a whole in relation to the objectives of both the degree and the demonstration of proficiency. The general objective of doctoral education at the Sibelius Academy is to produce music sector experts who are capable of high-level creative and critical work and who operate in demanding art, research, development and educational positions. Doctors of Music graduating from the Sibelius Academy act as societal contributors promoting an ethically sustainable future.

The special goals of the arts study programme are to provide doctoral students with

• the ability to express themselves artistically in a high-quality and visionary manner
• the ability to produce conceptually clear knowledge
• the ability to produce new knowledge through methods of art and research
• the ability to engage in constructive interaction with the art community, academia and the rest of society

The assessment of artistic components is supported by a linking paper on each component. In it, the doctoral student explains the objectives for the artistic component and the relation between the component and the demonstration of proficiency as a whole.

With regard to the written component, the committee is supported by the relevant pre-examination statements. The written component does not need to follow the conventional research publication model if it is possible to create a format that better serves its goals and those of the doctoral-level arts study programme. However, the written components to be examined as part of the demonstration of proficiency cannot be implemented without an adequate text section, which presents the topic in question to artistic actors and the academic community. The suggested length of the written component text section is approximately 40-100 pages or 25,000 ± 9000 words (the reference list, attachments, images or possible multimedia sections are not included).

The assessment criteria for a demonstration of proficiency grade of Pass or Pass with distinction are described below.

 

Assessment criteria

A demonstration of proficiency with a grade of Pass is based on independent artistic-research activities, contains new information and, with clear argumentation, corresponds with the task assignment of the demonstration of proficiency. The quality of the demonstration of proficiency sufficiently meets the requirements set for it.	A demonstration of proficiency with a grade of Pass with distinction is based on independent artistic-research activities, contains distinctively new information and, with clear argumentation, corresponds with the task assignment of the demonstration of proficiency. The quality of the demonstration of proficiency meets the requirements set for it with distinction.
The demonstration of proficiency and its components comprise a uniform, well-managed, consistent, appropriately defined and well-organised entity.	The demonstration of proficiency and its components comprise a thematically uniform, well-managed, consistent and appropriately defined entity that clearly shows the significance of the different parts of the project.
The topic, goals and new knowledge produced by the demonstration of proficiency have sufficient significance in the field of art and research or, in addition to the above, when it can be assessed, with regard to society or more broadly.	The topic, goals and new knowledge produced by the demonstration of proficiency play a notable role in the field of art and research or in addition to the above, when it can be assessed, with regard to society or more broadly.
The demonstration of proficiency is a meaningful and contextualised continuation of the previous tradition and discussion in its field.	The demonstration of proficiency is a meaningful and contextualised continuation of the previous tradition and discussion in its own field, and it is a visionary reform of the field.
Artistic research methods have been presented and reasoned. They are suitable and appropriate for the topic and objectives, and have been used consistently and reliably.	Artistic research methods have been presented and reasoned. They are especially suitable and appropriate for the topic and objectives, and have been used consistently and reliably to a laudable degree.
The demonstration of proficiency is constructively critical in relation to prevailing practices, previous research and the artistic research, outputs or outcomes of one's own work and their significance.	The demonstration of proficiency is, in a commendable way, constructively critical in relation to prevailing practices, previous research and the artistic research, outputs or outcomes of one's own work and their significance.
The demonstration of proficiency is sufficiently clear and convincing in terms of communication and style. Previous research and sources as well as the theory, methods and materials of the demonstration of proficiency are systematically structured and argued.	The demonstration of proficiency is especially clear and convincing in terms of communication and style. It is laudable how previous research and sources as well as the theory, methods and materials of the demonstration of proficiency are consistently structured and argued.
The demonstration of proficiency adheres to the norms of research ethics and responsible artistic and research practices. The ethical aspects of the demonstration of proficiency have been adequately addressed.	The demonstration of proficiency adheres to the norms research ethics and responsible artistic and research practices. The ethical aspects of the demonstration of proficiency have been laudably addressed.
If the demonstration of proficiency includes collaborations (such as jointly created works or joint publications), the creator's primary contribution is clearly demonstrated.	If the demonstration of proficiency includes cooperation (such as jointly created works or joint publications), the creator's primary contribution is clearly demonstrated.
The doctoral student has successfully defended their thesis at a public examination.	The doctoral student has insightfully defended their thesis at a public examination.