Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: Archives

Info


Photo: Veikko Kähkönen
 

Archives, libraries and museums are memory organisations, whose purpose is to collect, offer and preserve cultural heritage and information material.

Archives as sources of information

National Library of Finland
The National Library of Finland is responsible for the collection, description, preservation and accessibility of Finland’s printed national heritage and the unique collections under its care. On their website you can browse the library’s collections, also the musical ones.

Archive of Uniarts Helsinki
The archive of Uniarts Helsinki is responsible for the long-term preservation and accessibility of documents created at the University and its academies (The Academy of Fine Arts, Sibelius Academy and Theatre Academy). The archive contains e.g. administrative documents of the University and its academies, documents relating to teaching and artistic activity as well as artistic and scientific publications. The terminal archive of Uniarts Helsinki is located at Leipätehdas (prev. Taiteen talo) at the address Kaikukatu 4 A, Helsinki. There is a separate room for researchers in connection with the archive. Advance orders of archival data and inquiries should be directed to the archivist at arkisto (at)uniarts.fi.

Brages Pressarkiv
Brages Pressarkiv, established in 1910, is the oldest newspaper archive in the Nordics. Its mission is to systematically document the contents of the Swedish press in Finland. The reference database Presstanda and related search engines provides access to articles from 1990 onwards.  

Elka - Suomen elinkeinoelämän keskusarkisto
Suomen Elinkeinoelämän Keskusarkisto is the only institution in Finland specialized in preserving the history of businesses. The archive of Finnish design exists in connection with Elka. Elinkeinoelämän keskusarkisto is located in Mikkeli. The Elka databases are accessible through the Elka website.

The national audio-visual institute KAVI
The national audio-visual institute KAVI preserves domestic film, television and radio culture. The Kavi database can be found on the Kavi library page.

National archives of Finland
The National Archives hold large collections of private archives and documents, e.g. those of scientists, artists, families, manor houses, businesses and organisations as well as material produced by the authorities.

Provincial Archives
The provincial archives are regional central archives. They preserve documents of the regional and local authorities. They also host regionally significant private archives and function as research and development centres. The county archives are located in Hämeenlinna, Joensuu, Jyväskylä, Mikkeli, Oulu, Turku and Vaasa and are part of National Archives.

Suomalaisen kirjallisuuden seura (SKS): library and archive
Suomalaisen Kirjallisuuden Seura, established in 1831, began as a builder of national identity and is today a scientific memory organisation. The SKS archive contains collections relating to traditions and modern culture, as well as literature and cultural history.
Library and archive data online.

Svenska litteratursällskapet (SLS) archive and library
SLS is a scientific association whose main mission is to preserve, study and spread information about Finland-Swedish culture and cultural heritage in Finland. From the website you can access both the association’s archive and library collections.

Labour Archives in Finland
Labour Archives in FInland (Työväen Arkisto) is the country’s oldest workers’ archive. The archive contains freely available data from thousands of workers’ associations and hundreds of private individuals. Through the website you can search for archive data.

 

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement