Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: Books

Info


Photo: Veikko Kähkönen

 

Theatre Academy Library's loan periods are either 28 or 14 days.

Make an acquisition proposal

If you don’t find the material that you need in the library’s collections you can make a proposal for new material.

Please check first in the Uniarts Finna service Arsca if the material you are proposing is already available at University of the Arts Helsinki library.

To acquisition proposal

Printed publications as sources of information

The core of the library's printed collection includes materials from the following fields of performing arts: theatre and dance, choreography, directing, dramaturgy, performance, sound and light art, art pedagogics, artistic research and artistic writing. The collection includes a comprehensive selection of drama texts which is strengthened by drama databases in Finnish, Swedish and English together with national and international periodicals.

The literature classification is based on the Theatre Academy library classification system.

 

Arsca logo

Uniarts Finna portal Arsca is a search service for the library’s printed and electronic resources, and you can also renew your loans, make requests and save your favourites in the portal. Uniarts Helsinki’s students and personnel gain access to the e-resources that the university has the license to by logging in.

E-books

University of the Arts Helsinki Library has a selected collection of e-books, which can be found via Arsca, or directly from e.g. ProQuest Ebook Central (Uniarts login). You can also read and browse e-books in Google Books. The service contains either whole books or parts thereof.
About Google Books.

 

Google Book Search

Search guide: printed collections

Instructions on how to search in Arsca

Note, that you can order books from the Academy of Fine Art and the Sibelius Academy (free of charge) to the Theatre Academy Library by placing a request. In order to do that you need to log in.
 
Instructions for finding material through advanced search in Arsca

If you can’t find the material in Arsca:

1.    Check to see if the book can be found on Helmet (the libraries in Helsinki, Espoo, Kauniainen or Vantaa)
2.    Check to see if the book can be found on Melinda (union catalogue of Finnish university libraries) or Finna.fi. If necessary, place a request for inter-library loan with the Library’s Customer Service.

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement