Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: Articles and Databases

Info


Photo: Veikko Kähkönen

 

Didn't find an e-article what you was looking for?
Contact your library customer service and make an interlibrary loan request.

Make an acquisition proposal

If you don’t find the material that you need in the library’s collections you can make a proposal for new material.

Please check first in the Uniarts Finna service Arsca if the material you are proposing is already available at University of the Arts Helsinki library.

To acquisition proposal

E-material and databases as sources of information

The Library’s databases offer e.g. thousands of scientific articles, visual material and plays, dance and opera in digital format. You can search for e-material via Arsca or by going directly to one of the databases.

Note!

  • Uniarts students and staff can access the database remotely with Uniarts username and password or with a separate user name and password provided by the Theatre Academy Library.
  • The databases provided by the library can be found either from the list of databases or from Arsca or list below.

 

A list of available performing arts databases:

Academic Search Elite - EBSCO - Articles (full texts)

Google Scholar - Google search for scholarly literature

International Bibliography of Theater & Dance - EBSCO - Theater and dance articles, partly in full text

JSTOR - Full text journals on arts, humanities and social sciences

Labbet - Swedish plays. The link requires Uniarts credentials!

Näytelmät.fi - Digital library of Finnish plays. The link requires Uniarts credentials!

Performing Arts Periodicals Database (formerly IIPA) - ProQuest - Performing arts journals (contains full texts)

Project MUSE (Premium Collection) - Articles on arts, humanities and social sciences (full texts)

ProQuest - Search from all or selected ProQuest databases

Routledge Performance Archive (Routledge Taylor & Francis Group)
The Routledge Performance Archive is providing access to a wide range of audio-visual material from past and present practitioners of performance. The archive consists of a regularly updated collection of streamed video and audio footage with relevant critical commentary.

Search Guide: e-articles & Databases

Instructions for finding a specific e-article in Arsca

  1. Choose from main page International e-materials search
  2. Type the name of the article to search box
  3. Choose magnifier
  4. In the results coming up, choose the article you want and open it in the database (may be several) from which it is available.

Note!

  • Narrow your Search by choosing: Full text available OR / AND Peer reviewed OR Format

 

Instructions for finding e-articles (with search terms) from Arsca

  1. On the main page, chose Search for international e-material under the search menu
  2. Write your terms in the search field
  3. You may limit the results as follows: Limit the search, e.g. Full text available (means that the article, e-book, review is available in PDF format or on a webpage) or you may choose to see only Peer-reviewed material

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement