Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: AV-materials

Info

Photo: Veikko Kähkönen

 

In the Theatre Academy Library’s room for teamwork you may watch and listen to the Library’s audio-visual material or lend it.


The lending time for AV material is 14 days.

 

Open Access Audio-visual Databases

All of Bach (AoB)
Site maintained by the Dutch Bach association (Nederlandse Bachvereniging), where all of Johann Sebastian Bach’s work is stored on video. A new piece is added weekly.

Stage24
Stage24 is the virtual stage of the Finnish National Opera and Ballet. At Stage24 you can find performance recordings, streaming recordings and trailers.

Raita
Raita contains copyright-free domestic recordings and forms part of the project Vuosisadan äänet.

Gallica: Enregistrements sonores
Digitized recordings from the National Library of France.

Audio Archive
Contains audio material from archive news to concerts and old radio shows.  

National Jukebox
Historic recordings from the American Library of Congress.

CD's and DVD's as information sources

DVDs, CDs and the artistic works of thesis projects can be found in the general collection of the Theatre Academy Library, under the following shelf classifications:  

DVD
1 THEATER. PERFORMANCE. LIVE ART
13 DANCE
14 MUSICALS. MUSIC THEATRE
20 MOVIES
21 TV-SERIES

CD
59.33 RELAXATION
130 POEMS
132 FICTION
150 RADIO PLAYS
78.311 CHILDREN’S SONGS. CHILDREN’S MUSIC
78.352 OPERETTAS. MUSICALS. MUSICAL PLAYS
78.355 FILM, TELEVISION AND VIDEO MUSIC
78.4 ETHNIC MUSIC. FOLK MUSIC
78.5 MUSIC FOR ENSEMBLES AND ORCHESTRAS
78.891 POP / ROCK
78.892 BLUES.JAZZ
78.893 LIGHT MUSIC
78.894 TUNES AND DITTIES

Note!

  • Artistic works included in thesis can be found in the thesis project category, the general collection (cannot be borrowed).
  • Older Theatre Academy recordings can be found in the Library’s warehouse collection; please contact customer service.

Search Guide: AV-materials

 Instructions for acquiring material through the basic search on ARSCA:

  1. Go to the ARSCA database
  2. Choose Basic search. In the Search term(s) field, enter your terms,
    e.g. theatre history, art history, dance pedagogy, scenography, stage, performance art, etc.
    (You may use terminology service Finto to help you)
    As Search type, choose Word search

Note!

  • If you want the results to show only books and plays, choose Books under Limit search results.
  • If you are looking for a specific book, choose Name of book (or beginning of name) under Type of search.
  • If you are looking for material from a specific author, choose Author name (or beginning of name) as Type of search.

 

Instructions for finding material through the detailed search on ARSCA:
How to better combine search terms:

  1. Write a search term in the first search box. Remember to use general terms, terms that describe a process or method, synonyms – and use Finto to help you.
  2. In the second search box, write another search term. Using Boolean operators, define how you wish to limit your search.

Video databases

Dance in Video
Video recordings of dance productions.

Opera in Video
Database of opera videos. It is possible to save e.g. scenes or arias from the opera videos on playlists inside the database, for your own use or for the purpose of teaching.

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement