Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Performing Arts: Plays

Info


Photo: Veikko Kähkönen

Lending time for plays is 28 days.

Make an acquisition proposal

If you don’t find the material that you need in the library’s collections you can make a proposal for new material.

Please check first in the Uniarts Finna service Arsca if the material you are proposing is already available at University of the Arts Helsinki library.

To acquisition proposal

Plays

Theatre Academy’s library collection includes a comprehensive selection of play copies and printed plays. The collection is unique in Finland: the library holds over 4000 different play copies. There are true rarities held by the library: copies that cannot be found elsewhere have been donated to the library. The play copies are catalogued in Arsca. The plays are in Finnish, Swedish, English, French and German. The library also provides electronic play databases, such as Näytelmät.fi. The databases can be found at the list of databases.

Classification guide for plays:

150a/151a DRAMA
150b/151b MUSICALS. LIBRETTI
150c/151c RADIO PLAYS
150d/151d PLAYS FOR CHILDREN AND YOUTH. PUPPET PLAYS

 

Note!

  • It is not possible to search for plays based on the number of actors or by topic in Arsca.
  • Play copies are divided from printed plays collection. You can distinguish play copies in the database from the tag Näytelmämonisteet in  Holdings Information at Arsca.
  • Location: Teatterikorkeakoulun kirjasto Näytelmämonisteet
    = play copy
  • Location: Teatterikorkeakoulun kirjasto Avokokoelma Laina-aika 28 vrk
    = printed play

Plays / Drama Databases

List of drama databases can be found from databases list and from Arsca


Drama direkt - Swedish plays. The link requires Uniarts credentials!

Manusbanken - digital archive for Norwegian manuscripts for film, radio, television and theatre. The link requires Uniarts credentials!

Näytelmät.fi - Digital library of Finnish plays. The link requires Uniarts credentials!

Näytelmäkulma / Drama corner - Näytelmäkulma is the leading Finnish agent in theatre and film. On this site you can look for plays e.g. by topic and the number of actors included (mostly in Finnish).

Search Guide: Plays

Searching for plays according to number of roles, gender or style:

It is not possible to search for plays based on the number of actors in ARSCA, so if you are searching based on the number of roles, gender or style and wish to borrow your findings from the Theatre Academy Library, please proceed as follows:

  • Login to the Näytelmät.fi database
  • Do your search in the Plays bar, e.g. ‘3 female actors’

OR

  • Go to Näytelmäkulma
  • Choose Plays and authors
  • When you find a suitable play, go to Arsca
  • Write the name of the play in the basic search field
  • Choose Title from the drop-down menu on the search box

Note!

  • If we do not have a play that you need, which can be found on Näytelmäkulma, make an acquisition proposal. 

Etusivu

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement