Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide to applying for research funding: Data management and publication plans

Publication, data management and open science

Promoting open science is one of the most common goals in the research policy of funders. Funders often require or at least recommend open publishing of the research results and making the research materials and methods available whenever legally and ethically possible. The Academy of Finland, for example, takes the promotion of open science in planned research projects into consideration when making funding decisions and requires the open availability of any scientific publications it finances. The research materials must also be saved or made available in a national or international archive or storage system that is important for the field in question, but, for justified reasons, there may be various levels of openness for the materials from fully open to confidential.

Observe the expenses related to (open) publishing and data management in the budget.

Publication plan

The publication plan presents the publication and dissemination of the research results to the scientific community, other potential users and the general public.

Scientific publications can be made available by using either Green or Golden Open Access:

In Green Open Access, the article is published in a traditional, scientific subscription-based publication and self-archived for open access in an electronic archive of publications, the publication archive Taju in case of Uniarts Helsinki. The publisher may require an embargo period before the parallel electronic publication.

In Golden Open Access, the article is directly and openly published in a high-level, so-called open access publication operating according to the principles of open science. In that case, the publisher is responsible for the open access of the article and the article is immediately available to anyone. The publisher usually collects an article processing charge (APC). Many funders accept the article processing charge as a project expense, as long as the cost is generated during the project.

A so-called hybrid model is also possible. It combines the subscription-based and free-of-charge access. The author may make the article publicly available by paying the article processing charge determined by the publisher even if the publication is otherwise only available to its subscribers.

For more information on Open Access, please see the publishing guide of Uniarts Helsinki. The guide includes, for example, a parallel publishing permission for commercial publishers available for copying.

Data management plan

Funders often require a data management plan as an application attachment. The length of the attachment is usually 1–2 pages. A data management plan describes how research data are collected or created, how data are used and stored during research and how they are made accessible for others after the research has been completed. Any ownership, copyright and IPR issues and ethical considerations related to these must also be taken into account. Remember that the plan will be amended as the project proceeds, meaning that you do not need to predict everything in the early stages of the project. If necessary, ask the Research Services or the library for advice. The library provides support for drafting a data management plan as well as for managing and describing data for the duration of its specified lifespan.

Research materials must be securely stored during the project. When the project has been completed, the materials must be saved and, if possible, made openly available as soon as possible after the publication of the research results in national or international archives important for the field in question, observing any restrictions caused by, for example, legislation and ethical considerations. The goal is, above all, the usability of the data, not openness for the sake of openness. Materials that are already publicly accessible do not need to be saved again. In fact, it is often useful to differentiate between the existing data used in the project and the data collected or created in the project.

Storage during the project:

  • The personal network drive provided by Uniarts Helsinki is a secure storage up to 20 GB that offers regular backup copies. For larger quantities of data, you can use OneDrive that offers 1 TB of space.
  • Especially when sharing materials containing sensitive personal data between several researchers, we recommend the use of the eDuuni workspace. The service can be ordered from IT services but is subject to a charge, which is why you must allocate funds for it in the budget.
  • For more information on data management and technical platforms, please see the Uniarts Helsinki project guide.

Storage and open access after the completion of the project:

  • Researchers of Uniarts Helsinki can use e.g. national services
    • publication platform for open data AVAA
    • research data search service Etsin
    • research data storage service IDA (not suitable for sensitive personal data)
    • Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD), which accepts social science data but also certain types of data from the fields of humanities, education and health (no video data and usually no audio recordings)
  • Other storage options include, for example, the European Data Infrastructure EUDAT service and the Zenodo archive for all branches of science.
  • Linguistic data, including images/video, can also be stored in the FIN-CLARIN system (The Language Bank of Finland).
  • Artistic research projects can utilise the Research Catalogue platform.

See more information in the Uniarts data management guide.

Contact persons

Publishing

In general

Copyright Attorney (IPR Services of the Arts) Maria Rehbinder (maria.rehbinder@aalto.fi)

Data management

Senior Information Specialist Maaria Harviainen

Information Specialist Harri Ollikainen

lib.research@uniarts.fi

  • Data management plans, DMPTuuli

Further information

Publishing

Publishing at Uniarts Helsinki

Publication Forum

Data management

Data management plan tool dmpTuuli can be used when writing the data management plan, often required by research funders. The tool offers additional information and questions that facilitate the planning.

Uniarts data management guide

Uniarts research data policy (in Finnish)

Finnish Data Archive's (FSD) Data Management Guidelines offer information on questions relating to for example rights, data protection and data storage.