Opera music guide: Books, theses and reference books

The library's collections contain a lot of literature about opera. You should also check the biography of the composer of the work. 

The library also has plenty of opera-themed reference books and theses, which can be found in the reading room on the second floor of the library.

More literature and scientific publications can be found in the international electronic A-Z database list.

Töölö campus library's shelf classifications of opera-themed literature:

Catalogues of works. Bibliographic guides 0,2

General catalogues 0.21

Catalogues of composer's works (In alphabetical order according to composer) 0.24

Sibelius Academy theses 0.8

Doctoral theses 0.81

Pro gradu theses (master's theses) 0.84

Opera music. Stage music 3.13

Singing. Human voice 5.7

Librettos 9.4

Kuopio library's books about opera are in category 78.351

For singing and e.g. books and guides related to voice use can be found in class 78.3

E-books in Ebook Central can be also found via Arsca.

In the picture, as an example, bookshelf 3.13 is set as the search term in the Arsca search service and a new search field has been added, where the name of the composer of the work has been set as the search term.

Below the fields, you can find the options for narrowing down the search material types.

• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) aims to advance the discoverability of Open Access books, and the database includes over 15,000 scholarly books.
• The OAPEN Library includes Open Access books especially from social sciences and the humanities (SSH).

You can find printed and electronic theses and dissertations dealing with opera in the Taju digital publication archive of the University of the Arts.

Classifications of the Töölö campus library:

Sibelius Academy theses 0.8
Doctoral theses 0.81
Pro gradu theses (master's theses) 0.84

Kuopio library's classifications:
Doctoral theses 78.1

When searching for materials with Arsca's advanced search, you can use the narrowing tools below the search field:

The Töölö campus library's reference works on opera, composers lists of works can be found on the shelf at the back of the reading room on the second floor of the library.

Materials can also be found in electronic databases. See also the guide on electronic materials.

Töölö campus library shelf classifications:

Catalogues of works. Bibliographic guides 0,2
General catalogues 0.21
Catalogues of composer's works
(In alphabetical order according to composer) 0.24

Kuopio library shelf classifications:

Catalogues of works. Bibliographic guides 78.351