Most of the library's audio-visual collections are available via Arsca. Recordings generally have a loan period of 28 days. Both Töölö Campus Library and Kuopio Library also have an extensive collection of vinyls you can listen to in the library.
The library also has many record and video databases you can use at the library or remotely.
The Uniarts Helsinki Library has an extensive collection of recordings that represent classical music, jazz, and folk music.
Physical collections
The Sibelius Academy Library in Helsinki has a collection of about 35 000 CDs with a loan period of 14 days. Some of the CDs have a 28-day loan period.
The library in Kuopio has a collection of about 6 500 CDs, and most of them have a 14-day loan period.
The Theatre Academy Library houses theatre and dance-related recordings, and most of them have a 14-day loan period.
Recording databases
The Uniarts Helsinki Library gives you the access to several recording databases online (you will need a Uniarts Helsinki username to access them on a computer outside the university).
Naxos Music Library
Music listening service online. It gives you the access to the recordings of dozens of labels (Naxos, Alba, BIS, Chandos, Ondine etc.). In addition to Western art music, the service also has jazz and ethnic music in its collection.
Classical Music Library
Multi-label database of classical music recordings.
Contemporary World Music
offers recordings around the world. The tracks in the database represent different genres, such as reggae, bollywood, Arab jazz, and other traditional music, including fado, flamenco, klezmer, gospel etc.
Jazz Music Library
a database with a comprehensive collection of jazz.
American Music
a database of historical American recordings. The database includes music by different ethnic minorities in the United States and songs that relate to various historical events.
Popular Music Library
A database of popular music recordings. A wide range of popular music genres (alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock). The database also includes a large collection of compilation albums.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
the database is produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings.
Audiovisual material: Töölö campus library (Music Hall, Sibelius Academy)
The audiovisual materials of the Töölö campus library consist of physical sound and video collections as well as AV databases. Most of the physical collections can be borrowed, some are only available on site in the library. The databases are available at the libraries of the University of the Arts; Students and staff of the University of the Arts have remote access.
You can search and browse the audiovisual materials of the University of the Arts library in Arsca (search instructions for music in Arsca).
The AV materials of Alexander Street Press and Naxos database cannot be found through Arsca. They can be found directly through the A-Z database list.
The 14-day CD recording collection (approx. 36,000 CDs) mainly contains Western art music, as well as domestic folk music and jazz. The collection has an emphasis on multi-channel SACD/CD hybrid discs with high-resolution sound quality (DSD). The jazz and folk music records in the collection are mainly publications featuring teachers, students and/or alumni of the Sibelius Academy.
Through the Taju service (open publication archive of the University of the Arts), it is possible to listen to and view digitized materials of the University of the Arts. The Taju service is also available from home computers and mobile devices (copyright-free material, more than 70 years since the death of the composer/lyricist/arranger, 50 years since the performance). Listening and viewing copyrighted Taju material can only be done at workplace no. 6 on the 1st floor of the Töölö campus library (no copying, the machine is also available during self-service hours, no reservations).
The listening rooms of the Töölö campus library are available to all customers. There are three listening rooms: one large (A), two smaller (B, C). Students and staff of the University of the Arts can book listening rooms through Peppi: meeting/listening room A, B and C. Maximum booking time 4 hours/day, lateness margin 15 minutes. All customers can make reservations, e.g. by sending an email to the library's service address lib.siba@uniarts.fi or by phone during customer service hours. In addition, the library has places to listen to headphones (two of the places also have the option of watching videos). Headphone listening places cannot be booked.