Skip to main content

Taideyliopiston julkaisemisen opas: Publishing at Uniarts Helsinki

More info about Open Access to scientific publications

Picture from: Open Access page: http://openaccess.aalto.fi/en/​

Creative Commons -licenses

Define the user conditions for your publications with the help of Creative Commons licenses; you can choose to share part of your copyright and give users the rights you want to your publication.

In order to ensure a more open process for the whole lifespan of your research, please use the same licence for all data in your research.
Here is a guide to using CC licenses: http://libguides.aalto.fi/c.php?g=633732&p=4535408

Policies for open publishing

Many funding bodies require duplicates of published articles to be published in parallel on a repository for open access.

You can verify the archiving conditions of various research funding bodies in the Sherpa/Juliet service.

SHERPA/JULIET Logo

The Sherpa/Romeo service contains information on various publishers’ terms regarding parallel publishing and open databases. The database contains a summary of each publisher’s operating principles for open access publication and information about the article version to be archived, where it can be archived, and all other terms governing archiving. 

Responsible science

Welcome to Open Access Publishing

By Open Access publishing is meant a form of online publishing that supports the free spreading of scientific information. A scientific publication is openly accessible once it has been made available online to both the scientific community and the general public, free of charge and freely accessible.

Your research can be made openly accessible in five different ways:

  • Through magazines operating based on the Open Access principle (often subject to cost; so-called writers’ fees)
  • By purchasing free a single article from a magazine that otherwise charges for its content (known as Hybrid Open Access)
  • Through Open Access archives particular to a specific scientific field (e.g. arXiv; requires the publisher’s permission)
  • By making your publication accessible online through your own website (so-called self-archiving; requires the publisher’s permission)
  • By parallel publishing your research through the publication archives of different organisations (HELDA; requires the publisher’s permission).


Parallel publishing services at Uniarts Helsinki
Uniarts Helsinki’s services for parallel publishing and archiving make it possible for you to deposit a recently published or upcoming scientific article in publication archive HELDA. Open Access depositing increases the visibility and impact of the research, the researcher and the university, and promotes the openness of science in general. Many funding organisations (such as e.g. the EU and the Academy of Finland) also require, or at least recommend (e.g. KONE Foundation) that the results of funded research projects are published with Open Access.

Parallel publishing is a means of safeguarding accessibility to knowledge as well as the preservation of knowledge.

Benefits of Open Access publishing

Open Access publishing increases the visibility of the research, the researcher and the university, as well as the openness of science itself.

A scientific publication becomes openly accessible once the scientific community as well as the general public can read it for free and with unhindered access.  

It is a condition of many organisations that fund research (e.g. the EU and the Academy of Finland; also recommended by the KONE Foundation).

Unlike publishing through various community services, parallel publishing ensures the accessibility and preservation of your research. Depositing your research in HELDA guarantees that specific, permanent identifiers are used for your work and that data descriptions make your research easy to locate in the most important information systems.

Open Access publishing increases the number of citations.   

Publishing at Uniarts Helsinki

How do I publish at Uniarts Helsinki? 

Uniarts Helsinki’s publishing covers journals, monographs, serial publications and different kinds of publications. Publishing takes place through the academies’ publishing committees, in research centres, and through publishers external to Uniarts Helsinki: in this case, Uniarts Helsinki offers a parallel publishing service that ensures that publications are also given visibility through Uniarts Helsinki. 
The aim of this Guide is to help you find a suitable publication channel or platform for your research, as well provide assistance in any issues relating to publication. We gladly welcome feedback, development ideas and questions! This Guide will be updated and added to during 2018. 
 
Why publish?
  • Publishing is a core aspect of operating and gaining merit in the academic field
  • Open Access publishing promotes the openness of the university and of science
  • Open Access publishing promotes the impact of research and art made at Uniarts Helsinki
  • Publishing gives the researcher/writer more visibility for his/her research or publication (citations) 
  • The efficiency of research improves with better access to information and operating methods that are increasingly open
  • The quality of research results improve when they can be openly accessed and evaluated 
  • The publishing of research results and research gives rise to new research ideas
  • Publications bring new teaching material to Uniarts Helsinki
  • Uniarts Helsinki publications open up new discussions in the field of art and research
  • Due to everyone being able to access and evaluate it, Open Access publication promotes research in science and the arts as well as the reliability and quality of teaching materials 
  • Open Access publication promotes the spread of competence at Uniarts Helsinki to a wider audience, making our research attractive to others
  • Open science and research create new opportunities and ideas for researchers, decision-makers, the business world, the public sector and citizens
  • By publishing your work, you become part of the scientific community 
  • The university’s own publication channels enable e.g. more access to pictures than commercial series (see the Copyright Act) 
  • Publishing has a positive impact on Uniarts Helsinki funding (see Publication forum classification) 
  • Publishing gives rise to research results that meet the needs of working life and decision-making processes
  • By publishing in Uniarts Helsinki’s own series, you avoid having to pay the writer’s fees charged by commercial publishers 
  • Research publications constitute scientific communication and interaction, sparking new discussions
  • Publishing is a key scientific value involving the notion that research results do not constitute science until they have been published 
  • Alongside publishing activities, the researcher’s scientific work and/or work in the art field include well-organized and published research data, artistic and social activities, teaching and e.g. producing online material and scientific communication.

Benefits of Open Access Publishing

  • Open Access archiving increases the visibility of research, the researcher and the university, as well as the impact and openness of science. 
  • Your scientific publication is openly accessible when it can be read for free online, by both the scientific community and the public at large. 
  • Meets the requirements of many research funding bodies (e.g. the EU and The Academy of Finland, the Kone Foundation recommend it)
  • Parallel publishing guarantees accessibility and preservation of information, unlike the publication services of community services. Saving your publication in Helda guarantees the use of permanent identifiers and for descriptive data to be picked up by the most important data systems. 
  • Open Access publishing increases the number of quotations.

Evaluating scientific publications

To an increasing degree, evaluations of research and publications at universities and research facilities are carried out at the initiative of university administrations, individual researchers and external evaluators. 

The science investigating scientific publications, writers and citations with quantitative methods is called bibliometrics. 

What is evaluated? 
Countries, universities, research teams, scientific fields, connections between researchers, journals, citation practices

How is it evaluated? 
Number of citations, various indicators, (impact factor, h-index), rankings, bibliographies

Why is it important now?
The new funding model for universities places greater value on research and publications than before.

What could evaluation look like in the future?
Going forward, could research also be evaluated through e.g. the openness and organisation of the research data, social media visibility or through popular science articles and media appearances? 

Reporting

Uniarts Helsinki publications are reported once a year to the management team in charge of research and to the organisation, and the most downloaded articles are listed on the intranet and on the Uniarts Helsinki webpages.

(Updated 11.9.2019)