Siirry pääsisältöön

Publishing guide: Theses

Submitting theses to Taju

Submitting theses to Taju

Deliver your written thesis (or the written part of your proficiency demonstration) to the library in electronic format by submitting it into our institutional repository Taju. Library does not take printed copies any more. You are required to do this even if you do not give your permission for Open Access publication of your work. Submit your thesis into Taju at the same time when you submit it for assessment. Make sure that you submit the same version that you sent for assessment.

Before you submit your work for assessment and submit it to Taju, please note the following:

  • Thesis is a public document. It must not contain such private or classified things that could not be published. That kind of things must remain in thesis' background material which is not published in the thesis.
  • If you have a non-disclosure for personal safety reasons, please contact study services.
  • Thesis must be accessible and in PDF/A format. Name the file according to Lastname_Firstname_year.pdf .
    • Accessibility means that the document can be used by anyone regardless of disabilities, for example that computer screen readers can interpret the document correctly.
    • PDF/A format is suitable for long-term archiving, which means that PDF/A documents will work even after decades.
    • We recommend consulting the excellent Thesis accessibility guidelines by Finnish Universities of Applied Sciences, which also tell you how to make an accessible PDF/A from a MS Word document.
  • The author is responsible for quoting the image, table, text, note and other material contained in the Work as required by the Copyright Act. The original author and source must be reported in accordance with good scientific practice. Ask your thesis supervisor for more information.

This guide is only about saving your written thesis or the written part of your proficiency demonstration (PDF/A) into library's institutional repository Taju. Please contact your academy's study services or your supervisor on other things related to proficiency demonstration (for example how to handle artistic part of your proficiency demonstration). Practices may vary between academies.

To submit your work into Taju decide first if you want to publish it as Open Access. Then it can be downloaded and read from anywhere without restrictions. The other option is to submit it into a restricted collection. Then it is only readable on library's Taju workstations. The information about the work (author, title, abstract) will still be freely available online, as Open Access and the thesis is in any case a public document, which everyone has a right to get access to. We recommend publishing your thesis as Open Access. To begin the submitting process click one of the following links, according to your decision (this decision is final):

  1. Submit your work to Taju to be published online as Open Access
  2. Submit your work to Taju's restricted collection

After logging into Taju you will be asked for your PDF/A file and then information about your work. In the end you'll get to accept the publication license. You can move forward in the process with the "Next" button.

After you have submitted your work to Taju, it will not be publicly visible yet. Library will finalize the process after the information about the passed assessment of your work has reached the library. After process is finalized, your work will become visible in either open or restricted collection, according to your earlier choice. The selection cannot be changed afterwards.

In questions related to writing your proficiency demonstration, you will get help from your thesis supervisor or your academy's study services. The library helps in questions related to submitting your work into Taju through lib@uniarts.fi .

Submitting theses

Academy of Fine Arts

The documentation of final projects and theses of Academy of Fine Arts bachelor's or master's graduates from 2014 onwards are stored in the library. The documents are not available on loan. Documentations from 1995-2012 are stored at the Academy of Fine Arts archives (Kaikukatu), and from 2013 at the Uniarts archive (N-building).

Student services can provide further information about the submission of final projects and the final project/thesis process in general.

Sibelius Academy

The reference data of Sibelius Academy’s collection of printed theses can be found in Arsca, while the electronic collection is available in the Uniarts institutional repository Taju.

Compiling an abstract in digital format is part of the approval process of a thesis. Digital publishing will not replace copies of the work in paper form. Contact your own department to receive instructions on submitting paper copies of your work.

Instructions for the student and the thesis supervisor:

  • you can find the abstract template used at the Sibelius Academy below in Finnish, English and Swedish. The abstract is published in connection with the thesis.
  • fill in the data for your thesis abstract using this form. If you want to have your thesis published digitally as a full text, attach the file in PDF format. Use the "Download the file" button to do this. The form will be sent to the Library, and the data will be delivered to the Library’s database
  • publishing agreements for online publications can be found below. After signing the agreement, send it (in print format or PDF) to library staff members Jalo Oinonen (Helsinki) or Soili Voutilainen (Kuopio)

Student services of Sibelius Academy can provide further information about the submission of final projects and the thesis process in general.

In matters concerning publishing theses, please contact the Library:

Helsinki:
Jalo Oinonen
(jalo.oinonen@uniarts.fi, tel. 040 7104 219)

Kuopio:
Soili Voutilainen
(soili.voutilainen@uniarts.fi, tel.040 7104 245)

Theatre Academy

The printed thesis collection of the Theatre Academy is available via Arsca and the electronic collection is available in the institutional repository Taju. Taju archive contains works which have been authorised for online publication.

Tip: Use the Basic search/Classification search on Arsca to search for theses, using keywords teat opinnäytteet. This will give you a list of all theses produced at the Theatre Academy.

Student services can provide further information about the submission of final projects and the thesis process in general.

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement