Skip to main content

Music: Home

Music LibGuide

Welcome to the Music LibGuide!

This guide introduces you to the resources and services provided by the University of the Arts Helsinki and Sibelius Academy Library.

We will also publish a separate guide focusing on the special characteristics of how to search for music-related information.

Contact information

Uniarts Helsinki Library
Sibelius Academy

Helsinki Music Centre
Töölönlahdenkatu 16 C
00100 Helsinki
lib.siba@uniarts.fi
Tel. 040 710 4224


Sibelius Academy, Kuopio
Kuopionlahdenkatu 23 C
70100 Kuopio
lib.sibk@uniarts.fi
Tel. +35850 358 6105

Content of the Music LibGuide

This guide gives you an overview of the Uniarts Helsinki Library’s music resources. The guide also contains direct links to the Finna and Arsca search portals.

On the Sheet music tab, we have compiled a list of sheet music databases, and on the Recordings and videos tab, there’s a list of websites that offer collections of recordings and videos. On the Books and theses tab, you’ll find links to e-books and GoogleBooks.

On the Journals tab, you’ll find information on scientific journals included in the library’s collections and instructions on how to search for them. You can also perform a search in the Arsca and Finna databases on the same tab. The Articles and databases tab gives you an overview on how to search for articles and provides links to the databases that Uniarts Helsinki has the access to.

On the Other information sources tab, you’ll find links to different music themed sites, such as online sheet music stores and music organisations’ homepages. The guide also includes a list of a few Finnish archives with a short description and a link to the archive homepage.

Music Information Clinic

Uniarts Helsinki students and staff can book an appointment to an individual guidance session, where you can learn how to search for information e.g. within the field of music.

Helsinki: lib.siba@uniarts.fi

Kuopio: lib.sibk@uniarts.fi

 

Finna basic search

 

Arsca basic search