Siirry pääsisältöön

Research Data Management: Data archives

Choosing an archive

When you are choosing an archive or a repository for your research data, consider at least following aspects:

  • Which file formats the archive is supporting?
  • Is it possible to restrict and control access or is all data open?
  • Is there a support service, e.g support for indexing your data / create metadata?
  • Is there a permanent identifier for your data (DOI, URN)?

Archives

  Finnish social science data archive FSD IDA Zenodo Language Bank EOSC and EOSC portal EUDAT - European Data Infrastructure
What The Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD) provides a single point of access to a wide range of digital research data.

IDA is organised by the Ministry of Education and Culture and the service is produced by CSC - IT center for science ltd.

 

 

Zenodo is hosted by CERN and funded by EU.

 

Services for researchers using language resources.

The Language Bank is coordinated by the national FIN-CLARIN consortium formed by Finnish universities and other research organizations.

The European Open Science Cloud (EOSC) is an environment for hosting and processing research data.

A research data infrastructure initiative co-funded by the European Commission and in Finland coordinated by CSC - IT center for science ltd.

What purpose Data archiving, long term preservation and metadata

IDA enables saving, organizing and sharing data within the project group and storing the data in an immutable state.

Data stored in IDA can optionally be transferred to the Digital Preservation Service for Research data.

General-purpose repository For storing, preservation and sharing especially language research data. EOSC portal provides a virtual environment with access to various services supporting open science and the management of the research data lifecycle, from sharing to processing and preserving data. EUDAT in Finland is a suite of five integrated services (e.g. B2SHARE) which are immediately available for Finnish researchers, especially those working as part of international collaboration programmes.
Services for researchers Comprehensive support services for researchers incl. support for anonymisation and describing the data Limited support services for researchers.

No support services

Comprehensive support services for researchers. No support services No support services
Formats

Text and image files, numeric data ;

NO audio files

Practically all formats Practically all formats Practically all formats Practically all formats Practically all formats
Suitable for sensitive data Suitable for anonymised / pseudonymised data Not suitable for sensitive data Not suitable for sensitive data Yes. Resources can be accessed with credentials issued by your own institute or other organization. Some resources require personal access rights in addition to signing in. Not suitable for sensitive data Not suitable for sensitive data
Permanent identifier URN DOI, URN DOI      
Openness Open data Open data Open data Open data and access control Open data Open data
Information https://www.fsd.tuni.fi/en/services/depositing-data/ https://www.fairdata.fi/en/ida/ https://www.aalto.fi/en/services/zenodo-data-repository https://www.kielipankki.fi/language-bank/ https://avointiede.fi/en/networks/eosc https://www.csc.fi/en/-/eudat-datapalvelut-ja-kansainvalinen-tutkimusyhteistyo
Homepage https://www.fsd.tuni.fi/en/ https://www.fairdata.fi/en/ida/  https://zenodo.org/ https://www.kielipankki.fi/language-bank/ https://www.eosc-portal.eu/ https://www.eudat.eu/

Citing research data

Digital research data sources used in research publications must be cited accurately and in sufficient detail. It is part of good scientific practise.

Guidelines:

Saavutettavuusseloste | Accessibility statement