Skip to main content

Music: Sheet music, recordings and videos

Scores

Sheet music forms a central part of the Uniarts Helsinki Library’s music resources. Western classical music is particularly well represented in the library’s sheet music collection. The library also has a nationally valuable collection of different composers’ complete works and anthologies.

The largest sheet music collection is in the Sibelius Academy’s libraries in Helsinki and Kuopio, but the Theatre Academy Library also has its own sheet music collection focusing on music for the stage and materials that support students’ singing lessons.

Sheet music databases are available on Uniarts network or remotely to Uniarts students and staff.

Audio-visual materials

Uniarts Helsinki library's audio-visual collections are available via Arsca. Recordings generally have a loan period of 14 days. Sibelius Academy Helsinki library also has an extensive collection of vinyls you can listen to in the library.

The library also has many record and video databases you can use at the library or remotely.

Freely available audio-visual sources

All of Bach (AoB)
A website maintained by the Netherlands Bach Society, which provides a video recording of all works by Johann Sebastian Bach. A new video is published on a weekly basis.

Stage24
Virtual stage of the Finnish National Opera and Ballet. Stage24 carries recordings of performances, live broadcasts and trailers.

Raita
Collection of royalty-free Finnish recordings and part of the “Sounds of a century” project.

Gallica: Enregistrements sonores
Recordings digitised by the National Library of France.

Audio Archive
Recordings ranging from news and concerts to old radio programming.

National Jukebox
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress project.

Make an acquisition proposal

If you don’t find the material that you need in the library’s collections you can make a proposal for new material.

Please check first in the Uniarts Finna service Arsca if the material you are proposing is already available at University of the Arts Helsinki library.

To acquisition proposal