Skip to main content

Music: Books, journals and theses

Theses

Uniarts Helsinki publication archive Helda includes also theses.

Reference works

Journals

Both printed and electronic journals can be searched in Arsca.

Printed journals in the Sibelius Academy Library in Helsinki

The latest volumes of the serials are available for reading in the library, while the older volumes are kept in the storage. The serials are not lent. The library favours online publications over printed publications in its purchase decisions whenever possible.

Printed journals in the Sibelius Academy Library in Kuopio

The latest volumes of the serials are available for reading in the library, while the older volumes are kept in the storage. The loan period for journals is two weeks. Some titles are also available as electronic journals.

How to search for journals

You can browse a journal list in Arsca. The list includes all journals that are available at Uniarts Helsinki, both printed and electronic.

You can search for journals by typing the journal’s title or part of the title (for example “music education” or “British journal of”) in the search box on the site. You can also limit the search results by using the options on the right.

--> On the right hand side of the list of journals, you can see where the journals are available online and click on the links to read the e-journals.

From the link titled “SFX” you can get to the SFX menu which shows you the availability information and links to the material.

Printed journals have the text “Serial” instead of “eSerial” below their title. You can check the availability information of a printed journal by clicking the journal’s title.

Ebook Central - e-books directly to your desktop

Ebook Central logo

E-books in Ebook Central can be also found via Arsca.

Open Access books

  • Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) aims to advance the discoverability of Open Access books, and the database includes over 15,000 scholarly books.
  • The OAPEN Library includes Open Access books especially from social sciences and the humanities (SSH).

Make an acquisition proposal

If you don’t find the material that you need in the library’s collections you can make a proposal for new material.

Please check first in the Uniarts Finna service Arsca if the material you are proposing is already available at University of the Arts Helsinki library.

To acquisition proposal