Skip to main content

Taideyliopiston julkaisemisen opas: Publishing terminology of Uniarts Helsinki

Publishing terminology of Uniarts Helsinki

Definitions of terms by the publishing work group of Uniarts Helsinki
Updated 3.4.2018.

 

Publishing party          

The term is used for the party responsible for content and implementation, for whom publishing is not the only or the main assignment. Uniarts Helsinki is often the publishing party.

Making public

A text/work has been made available to the public by permission (see e.g. www.operight.fi). Different stages of making something public: (1): in the Library or otherwise available with limited access (copy, PDF, recording); (2) made public online (e.g. in Helda, eThesis, PDF, recording). Note: making something public online is almost the same as publishing it – perhaps even from a legal standpoint (“otherwise distributed among the public”).

Publishing

Chapters/parts of the text/work has been made available for purchase, by permission, or otherwise distributed among the public. Publishing constitutes e.g. publishing a book with an ISBN identifier, a magazine, recording or a note collection with an ISMN identifier.

Publication platform

A platform used to produce, or through which is published, works, journals, books and other media. Electronic publication platform: a platform on e.g. the Internet or an intranet that contains different coded data and in which you can publish works, journals, books, other media.

Publication channel
Institution that edits/produces publications; e.g. a scientific magazine, publisher, conference, recording, musical notes publisher. Does not refer to the technique but to the institution that acts as publisher.

Publication format
The publication format can refer to e.g. digital, print, layout, a book, Research Catalogue, PDF, magazine, WordPress.

Publisher       

A commercial publisher that focuses on publishing and the entire lifespan of a publication. E.g. Uniarts Helsinki may choose to publish a work together with a commercial publisher and may also be named as publisher (participates in the manufacturing costs and resourcing of the project). The ISBN number contains information about the publisher and refers to the publisher register maintained by the National Library of Finland.

Thesis project         
Refers to the final research projects required for examination with a BA, MA, Licentiate or PhD degree.
Doctoral thesis projects are published at Uniarts Helsinki.

Parallel publishing
By parallel publishing is meant storing a duplicate of a recently published or soon to be published scientific or artistic article in the university’s digital archive.  See http://libguides.uniarts.fi/c.php?g=658569&p=4647380

Parallel storage
By parallel storage is meant the technical process of saving a duplicate publication in e.g. digital archive Helda. See http://libguides.uniarts.fi/c.php?g=658569&p=4647380

Layout template
A paper model or a template constructed with a word processing/layout programme for the purpose of page or cover layout.

Uniarts Helsinki’s publication work group
Based on https://artsi.uniarts.fi/julkaisutoiminta 
The publication work group is appointed by the Rector, and the Vice Rector responsible for research serves as its Chairman. Assignments of the publication work group:
- coordinates the publication activity of the academies at the Uniarts Helsinki level (vision, publication policies, accessibility and visibility of publications, publication administration (where the work is done, how it is funded and how operations are being developed, financing models)
- partakes in the implementation of Uniarts Helsinki’s strategy where publications are concerned (plan for developing publishing)
- makes suggestions for Uniarts Helsinki’s strategy concerning publications

Publication activities of Uniarts Helsinki (to be completed)
Uniarts Helsinki publishes the following:

1) Uniarts Helsinki’s peer-reviewed books
- DRP and some of the works in the Theatre Academy’s Acta Scenica series

2) Doctoral theses of Uniarts Helsinki
- Theses
- Studia Musica, Acta Scenica
- Theses for a doctoral degree in the arts, and written work as well as reports of the Applied Study Programme
- The EST publication series
- Demonstrations of development targets in the Applied Study Programme (NOTE: these can be articles, teaching materials, musical note editions, recordings, teaching demonstrations, concerts, compositions, instruments, devices, multimedia presentations, computer programmes)
- Concerts within artistic education
- Soiva Akatemia series

3) Books that have not been peer-reviewed

4) Teaching material

5) Small-scale publications without ISBN identifiers
- various small text collections that do not fit the definition of a book

6) Concerts, performances, lectures
- Soiva Akatemia series
- TV / YouTube
- artistic activity, performances, exhibitions, lecture series

7) Recordings and videos
- Series of folk music recordings (see www.etno.net)
- Videos from the ArtsEqual project
- Facebook videos

Editorial board
The editorial board consists of the editor-in-chief of the magazine, series or book, the other editors, the Head of Publication. An editorial board may exist per issue. The editorial board is responsible for the content of the magazine, for editing, and for completion.  E.g. the editorial board of Ruukku is per issue whereas for Trio and FJME it is continual.

Editorial council

The editorial council is a group of experts appointed for the magazine, series or book. The role of the editorial council is determined based on the publishing institution responsible for the magazine, series or book. The editorial council outlines the strategy of the series or magazine, depending on the publishing institution.

According to Jufo, 50% of the editorial council needs to consist of persons external to Uniarts Helsinki, in order to achieve a Grade I publication or publisher.

Research publication
We use the categorisation of the Ministry of Education and Culture. Available e.g. here: https://confluence.csc.fi/display/tutki/OKM%3An+julkaisutyyppiluokitus

 

Vocabulary

Author’s draft / Pre-print / Pre-refereeing 
A version of the manuscript that gets sent to the publisher prior to peer review, or any other earlier version.

Embargo
refers to a quarantine period placed on the publication of the original work by the publisher; during this period you need to refrain from publishing any duplicates of your work. Information about different embargo practices enforced by publishers for different magazines is distributed by SHERPARoMEO. The embargo is calculated as beginning on the day the magazine appears, either in electronic or printed format depending on which takes place sooner. Depending on the publisher the embargo varies between 6-12 months. Not all publishers set a limit.

Final Draft / (Author's) Post-Print
The last version going to the publisher, following peer review, without the layout of the publisher visible; e.g. page numbering may be missing or incorrect. This version (or the Publisher’s PDF) is saved in Helda.

Golden Open Access (OA)
A publication model where the article is published in a high-quality Open Access journal that charges a fee for publication by which OA publishing costs are covered. There is a charge for publication and the research team/university often incur expenses. Any charges should be taken into account when preparing the publication plan.

Green Open Access (OA)
A publication model where researchers promote the open access of scientific data by publishing straight into an OA publication that does not charge any fees from the research team or university. The publication can be parallel published free of charge in the organisation’s own publication archive.

HELDA digital archive A publication archive used by Uniarts Helsinki, where articles, the university’s own publications and thesis projects are parallel published.

Hybrid Open Access (OA) 

A publication model referring to a journal where only some articles are openly accessible and some are charged for. The hybrid model may incur costs for the research team or university when a single article has to be bought free from a commercial magazine in order to publish it in the university’s own publication archive or as part of e.g. an article-based thesis.

Open Access (OA)
The publication is openly accessible in free information networks, the publication permit usually has no time limit. The publication is available online, complete and for free.

Publisher's PDF
The final version of the article, with layout, as published in the magazine. In order to save this version in the publication archive of your own organisation you will need the publisher’s permission. Version stored in Helda or Final Draft.

Parallel Publishing
A publishing model that one form of Open Access publishing. It is not the same as publishing in OA magazines. Parallel publishing means that the university researchers have already published their scientific work somewhere outside the organisation, often in printed academic publications, and they are now also publishing their scientific work in the organisation’s own publication archive, where it is openly accessible. At Uniarts Helsinki this archive is Helda.