Skip to main content

Taideyliopiston julkaisemisen opas: Parallel Publishing Guide

Benefits of Open Access publishing

Open Access publishing increases the visibility of the research, the researcher and the university, as well as the openness of science itself.

A scientific publication becomes openly accessible once the scientific community as well as the general public can read it for free and with unhindered access.  

It is a condition of many organisations that fund research (e.g. the EU and the Academy of Finland; also recommended by the KONE Foundation).

Unlike publishing through various community services, parallel publishing ensures the accessibility and preservation of your research. Depositing your research in HELDA guarantees that specific, permanent identifiers are used for your work and that data descriptions make your research easy to locate in the most important information systems.

Open Access publishing increases the number of citations.   

Open Access Publishing: How do I parallel publish an article?

Instructions on parallel publishing at Uniarts Helsinki

Uniarts Helsinki’s service for parallel publishing makes it possible for you to deposit a recently published or soon-to-be published scientific or artistic article in the HELDA publication archive.

Parallel publishing – how to:

  • In order to make parallel publishing possible, request permission for OA publication from any other authors of the article, as well as e.g. the necessary permissions to publish images and other copyrighted material (by someone other than the author him/herself) online. Spoken permission is enough.
  • Make sure that the agreement with the publisher permits parallel publishing. If necessary, ask the publisher for permission to parallel publish (see example letter below).
  • You can verify the publisher permission and any possible embargo periods from the Sherpa/Romeo service, which contains information about parallel publishing according to different publishers, and regulations on open databases. The database contains summaries of the operating principles regarding open access publishing used by different publishers, as well as information on which article version can be deposited, where it can be deposited and all other conditions relating to publishing.
  • Send the Final Draft or Publisher’s PDF of the article in PDF format to the contact person at your library, along with information attesting that publication permissions from the other authors (if any) and the publisher have been obtained. At the same time, deposit your publication data in the SoleCRIS system.
  • By sending your text to the contact person at the Uniarts Helsinki Library, to be deposited in HELDA, you thereby give your permission for it to be published (see Parallel Publishing Agreement below.

    The Academy of Fine Arts: Kristiina Aunesluoma (kristiina.aunesluoma @ uniarts.fi)
    The Sibelius Academy:  Jalo Oinonen (jalo.oinonen @ uniarts.fi)
    The Theatre Academy: Hanna Kauppila (hanna.kauppila @ uniarts.fi)
     
  • The author is responsible for acquiring publication permissions!

NOTE!

Depending on the publishing agreement or the publisher’s policy, the version deposited in HELDA is either the Author's Post-print /Final draft or the article that has been published in the publisher’s service, known as Publisher’s PDF. If the publication has been peer-reviewed, the freely accessible version of the article should also contain the changes made following the peer review (guidelines from the Ministry of Education and Culture). 

If you have questions about obtaining publishing permissions or embargo periods, or if you need further information, please contact:
the library's researcher services, lib.research@uniarts.fi   

If you have questions for the copyright counsel, please contact:
Maria Rehbinder (maria.rehbinder @ aalto.fi / 040 824 1500), Copyright services of arts universities.

If you have questions or need additional information on CRIS depositing, please contact:
Alina Savolainen (alina.savolainen @ uniarts.fi / 0400 792 089), Theatre Academy of Uniarts Helsinki.

 

Legal Questions

1. Publication rights in publication agreement with the publisher: When drawing up a publishing agreement, the researcher can choose to only relinquish simple publication rights to the publisher, i.e. maintain the rights to publish the text elsewhere, or the researcher signs a publication agreement in which all publication rights are transferred to the publisher (the publisher or magazine may prohibit open archiving). In such cases the publication also cannot be deposited or shared in social services (e.g. ResearchGate). The researcher may then investigate whether Golden or Hybrid OA publishing would be possible; it entails buying the right to parallel publishing.

2. Joint article: the writer needs to request permission for parallel publishing from other article authors, preferably already at the start of the research process. This also applies to photographs and graphical presentations.

3. The author is responsible for acquiring the necessary permission for parallel publishing.

4. Publishers’ conditions:

  • SHERPARoMEO shares information about conditions placed by publishers on different magazines.
  • Often you can also find information about parallel publishing principles on the website of a magazine or publisher, e.g. Elsevier, Sage, Springer, Taylor & Francis, Wiley.
  • If a certain magazine does not have a published policy on parallel publishing, you need to ask the publisher for permission. The Academy of Finland accepts embargo periods of either 6 months or 12 months in their funding applications, depending on the scientific field. An example letter to a publisher can be found on this page
  • If there is anything unclear concerning the permissions of publishers appearing in the Sherpa/Romeo service, please contact the library's researcher services, lib.research@uniarts.fi.

Open Access Principles

Many funding organisations require that published research articles are also deposited in an open publication archive.

You can check the specific requirements of research-funding organisations regarding open publication or archiving in the Sherpa/Juliet service.

The Sherpa/Romeo service contains information on different publishers’ requirements regarding Open Access publishing and archiving and the rules governing open databases. The database contains summaries of each publisher’s Open Access principles and details on which article version can be deposited and where, and all such related conditions.

Terminology

Author’s draft / Pre-print / Pre-refereeing
A manuscript sent to the publisher prior to peer review, or any earlier version.

Embargo
A period of quarantine set by the publisher and calculated from the time the original work is published; a publication delay during which to refrain from parallel publishing. Information about the varying embargo procedures determined by publishers for different publications are shared by SHERPA-ROMEO. The embargo begins on the date of publication in a magazine, either the electronic version or the printed magazine, depending on which comes first. The embargo period depends on the publisher and is normally between 6 and 12 months in length. Not all publishers enforce this period of delay.

Final Draft / (Author's) Post-Print
The last version sent from the author to the publisher, peer-reviewed and amended following the peer review, but without the publisher’s layout showing. For example, pagination may be missing or incorrect. This version (or the Publisher’s PDF) is deposited in HELDA.

Golden Open Access (OA)
Publication model in which the article is published in an Open Access journal. Publication is sometimes subject to a charge (APC, article processing charges), creating costs for the research team/university. Any possible costs should be taken into account when creating a publication plan.

Green Open Access (OA)
Publication model in which researchers promote the open access of scientific information by publishing directly in an OA publication that does not charge a fee from the research team or university. The publication can be parallel-published without charge in the publication archive of your own organisation.

Digital archive HELDA
A publication archive in use at Uniarts Helsinki that parallel-publishes articles, Uniarts Helsinki’s own publications and thesis projects.

Hybrid Open Access (OA)
A publication model that refers to a magazine in which only a share of articles are openly accessible and a share are subject to a fee. In the hybrid model, a research team or university may incur costs as they buy free a single article from a commercial magazine to be published in the university’s own publication archive or e.g. as part of an article thesis.

Open Access (OA)
Openly accessible. The publication is openly available in a free information network. The publication permit is often unlimited time-wise. The publication is available to be read online, free of charge and easily accessed.

Publisher's PDF
The final version of an article, complete with layout, and published in a magazine. You need the publisher’s permission to store this version in the publication archive of your own organisation. This is the version stored in HELDA, also known as Final Draft.

Parallel Publishing
A publishing model within Open Access publishing. It is not the same as publishing in an OA magazine. Parallel publishing or depositing means that the university researchers have already published their scientific work somewhere outside the organisation, often in a printed scientific publication, and they are now also publishing and depositing their scientific work in the organisation’s own publication archive, where it is made openly accessible. At Uniarts Helsinki, this archive is HELDA.

Community services for researchers

Commercial community services for researchers such as ResearchGate, Academia.edu and Research Catalogue offer researchers the opportunity to share and present their own publications and research results.

Parallel depositing, in other words uploading an article to a service, always also requires:

    - permission from the publisher that published the original article,

    - permission from any other authors, and

    - permissions to use any images, tables etc.

Do keep in mind that permanent accessibility, the use of permanent identifiers or data descriptions in central information systems are not always guaranteed in social media services, unlike when you deposit in Uniarts Helsinki’s digital archive HELDA.